CW Permits may only be applied for Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (excluding holidays) PLEASE CALL AHEAD TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT!!
Before you can apply for a concealed carry permit you must meet the qualifications/requirements and have the following….
Proof of training from a qualified firearms safety instructor. This instructor must be approved in the county in which he resides.
Valid photo identification
Cash/Personal Check for $50.00 payable to the Daviess County Sheriff’s Office
Money order ONLY for $26.00 made payable to Criminal Record Systems Fund
The Permits are renewable every 5 years. The fee for renewal is $50.00
- Must be 19 years of age. 18 years of age if you are in the military.
- Must be a resident of Daviess County, and a citizen of the United States.
- Has not pled guilty to or entered a plea of Nolo Contendere or been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year under the laws of any state or of the United States other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor under the laws of any state and punishable by a term of imprisonment of one year or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, silencer, or gas gun.
- Has not been convicted of, pled guilty to or entered a plea of Nolo Contendere to one or more misdemeanor offenses involving crimes of violence within five year period immediately preceding application for a certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement or if the applicant has been convicted of two or more misdemeanor offenses involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within a five year period immediately preceding application for a certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement.
- Is not a fugitive from justice, or currently charged in an information or indicted with a felony.
- Has not been discharged under dishonorable conditions from the United States Armed Forces.
- Has not engaged in a pattern of behavior, documented in public records, that causes the Sheriff to have a reasonable belief that the applicant presents a danger to him/herself or others.
- Is not adjudged mentally incompetent at the time of application or for five years prior to application, or has not been committed to a mental health facility, or a similar institution located in another state following a hearing at which the applicant was represented by a counsel or representative.
- Is not the respondent of a valid full order of protection which is still in effect.
August 28, 2014
|New Legislation altered the process of issuance of the concealed carry permit. Beginning January 1, 2014, each county Sheriff shall maintain, house and issue concealed carry permits as specified under Chapter 571 of the Revised Missouri State Statutes. Applicants will no longer be required to obtain their concealed permit through the State of Missouri Department of Revenue. Each Sheriff will now issue the endorsement on an ID card designed by the Missouri Sheriff’s Association.||Other new changes as a result of new legislation: Permits are now issued for 5 years. If the permit holder fails to renew the permit within 6 months of the expiry date, it will be null and void. The permit holder will have to apply for the permit again. Also, each permit holder will be responsible for notifying the Sheriff of any changes to the permit, including name changes and address changes within 30 days. The Sheriff may charge a fee of up to $10.00 for a change of address that includes a change of county residency.New residents of the county will be required to show proof of residency. Failing to report an address change or name change to the Sheriff, could result in the concealed carry permit becoming invalid after 180 days.|